FSSAI reconstitutes scientific committee and 19 scientific panels


For providing scientific and technical advice for development of food products standards

Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) has reconstituted Scientific Committee and 19 Scientific panels, and constituted 2 new scientific panels comprising independent scientific experts for providing scientific and technical advice for development of food products standards. 

The term of these scientific panels will be valid for a period of three years from 1st Jan 2020 to 31st December 2022, as per the terms of the provisions contained in Section 15 of the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006.

The scientific committee comprises of the following members- Dr Anura Kurpad, Professor, Department of physiology, St John’s Medical College Bengaluru; Dr Chindi Vasudevappa, Vice-Chancellor, NIFTEM, Haryana; Dr G S Totej, Additional Director General and Scientist H, Indian Council of Medical Research; Dr K S M S Raghavarao, Director, CFTRI, Mysuru; Dr S Ayyappan, Chancellor, Central Agricultural University, Imphal, and Dr Sanjay Kumar, Director, Institute of Himalayan Resource Technology, Palampur.

The Chairperson of each scientific panel is also part of the scientific committee. Each of the scientific panels will be selecting a Chairperson amongst their members in the subsequent meetings to be held. A Chairperson for the scientific committee will also be selected.



Read Previous

Siggi’s launches yogurt for kids with less sugar

Read Next

Foods you didn’t know were high In sugar

Leave a Reply