Ayurveda places the heart at the centre of different physical and spiritual principles


Ayurveda places the heart at the centre of different physical and spiritual principles. For instance, the heart is considered central in Marma therapy. Similarly, the Anahata Chakra which resides in the heart is at the centre of all seven chakras. Ojas, the essence of energy and immunity is also located in the heart.


Ayurveda considers the heart to be the seat of spirit and emotions. So, for a healthy heart, you need both emotions (bhava) and the spirit (prana) to be healthy, and here is what Ayurveda recommends.


In Ayurvedic terms, when you are emotional, your mind is either in the state of Rajas (passion, anger, attachment, desire, etc.) or Tamas (moody, jealous, guilt, shame, embarrassment, etc.), and neither of these states is healthy. Health blossoms when your mind is in the state of Sattva and you experience joy, serenity, cheerfulness and euphoria. Now, how do you attain Sattva? The simple answer is ‘slow down’, ground yourself with reality and take a moment to introspect.


Ayurveda considers two things very important to maintain health – strong Agni (digestion) and absence of Ama (toxins). If you want to reduce Ama, the food you eat to nourish your body is equally important.


Mild exercises keep your heart strong and promote good metabolism. Just brisk-walking for 20-30 minutes every day will burn calories, reduce cholesterol and flush toxins. Also, when you exercise or practise yoga on a regular basis, you no longer feel the urge to satisfy your addictions.


Dr Partap Chauhan, Director,  Jiva Ayurveda

Read Previous

Dr. Pratap Chauhan receives Asmita Legacy Award

Read Next

New Industrial Policy to encompass AI, IoT and open new vistas for investments

Leave a Reply