FSSAI specifies comprehensive group standard for millets

To be enforced from 1st September 2023

The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) has specified a comprehensive group standard for millets vide Food Safety and Standards (Food Products Standards and Food Additives) Second Amendment Regulations, 2023 notified in the Gazette of India and the same will be enforced w.e.f. 1st September 2023.

Currently, individual standards for only a few millets like Sorghum (Jowar), Whole and decorticated Pearl Millet grain (Bajra), Finger Millet (Ragi) and Amaranth are prescribed in the Food Safety and Standards (Food Product Standards and Food Additives) Regulations, 2011.

FSSAI has now framed a comprehensive group standard for 15 types of millets specifying 8 quality parameters i.e., maximum limits for moisture content, uric acid content, extraneous matter, other edible grains, defects, weevilled grains, and immature and shrivelled grains, so as to ensure availability of good quality (standardised) millets in domestic and global markets.

The group standard is applicable to the following millets- Amaranthus (Chaulai or Rajgira); Barnyard Millet (Samakechawal or Sanwa or Jhangora); Brown top (Korale); Buckwheat (Kuttu); Crab finger (Sikiya); Finger Millet (Ragi or Mandua); Fonio (Acha); Foxtail Millet (Kangni or Kakun); Job’s tears (Adlay); Kodo Millet; and Little Millet (Kutki); Pearl Millet (Bajra); Proso Millet (Cheena); Sorghum (Jowar); and Teff (Lovegrass).

Image credit- shutterstock

Read Previous

India puts focus on export promotion of millets at GULFOOD 2023

Read Next

ICRISAT and Eagle Genomics to accelerate microbiome-based solutions for improved nutrition

Leave a Reply